Incoming & Outgoing Tour Operator
The Mithraeum in the basements of Santa Prisca Church
In 1934 the Augustinian Fathers, accidentally, discovered, in the basements of Santa Prisca Church, a very ancient Mithraeum, that is a place of pagan worship dedicated to the god Mithras.
The Mithraeum was built around 200 d.C. by reusing the rooms of an house dating back to the first century and those of a second-century building which was later built the Church. The sanctuary has a rectangular plan with coverage of the barrel vault and benches to the sides where took place the followers.
In the bottom wall there is a large niche containing a group of statues made in plaster which represents the most important scene of the myth: Mithras that kills a bull. Under the niche there is a statue of a Saturn lying down, entirely constructed with fragments of amphorae.
The decorations, still well preserved, on the walls, make this a very charming place. The frescoes represent, in fact, the 7 degrees of initiation through which, the adherents to the cul of Mthras , had to pass: corax, nymphus, miles, leo, perses, heliodromus, pater, each under the protection of a planet. The Mithraeum was destroyed around 400 d.C probably by Christians before the construction of Santa Prisca Church.